Skip to main content

Undergrad Course Information

Course Information for 2023/2024

 

Winter 2024 Ensemble Audition Information

** All information is subject to change. Please visit Ensembles * for complete course descriptions, grading options, and fees. **

MUS 95C. Concert Choir: No audition required. 

MUS 95D. Symphonic Chorus: La Jolla Symphony Chorus welcomes student members and requires that each person participate in a 10-minute live audition session with LJSC Choral Director Dr. Arian Khaefi for admission. Students will go online to schedule appointments: TBA. 

MUS 95E. Chamber Orchestra: If you are interested in joining, please contact Matthew Henson (mhenson@ucsd.edu) regarding if positions for your instrument are still available and audition details.

MUS 95G. Gospel Choir (Ken Anderson, k7anderson@ucsd.edu): No audition required. 

MUS 95JC. Jazz Chamber Ensemble (Kamau Kenyatta, kkenyatta@ucsd.edu): Auditions are held first class meeting. Students will be asked to play or sing a jazz standard or 12-bar blues of their choice, along with a rhythm section. Please bring three lead sheets for students who will accompany you. If you are chosen, you can enroll afterwards. 

MUS 95L. Wind Ensemble (Michael Jones, m1jones@ucsd.edu): Auditions will be held during the first class meeting. Students can prepare a short solo, etude or notable excerpt for their instruments. Please sign up at the link: MUS 95L Sign-Up Sheet 

MUS 95W. World Music Ensemble: Indian Classical Music Ensemble (Kartik Seshadri, kaseshadri@ucsd.edu): No audition required. 

MUS 130. Chamber Music Ensemble (Takae Ohnishi, tohnishi@ucsd.edu): Auditions are held during the first week of each quarter. Attend the first class meeting and prepare a movement of a concerto chosen from the standard repertoire, an entire sonata, or another major work for your instrument.

MUS 131. Advanced Improvisation Performance (Matana Roberts): Master-level class instruction in advanced improvisation performance for music and art majors. 

MUS 134/234. Symphonic Orchestra: The La Jolla Symphony Orchestra performs two full-length programs each quarter, each program being performed twice. For audition information, please contact orchestra@ljsc.org